The Hunger Curios


As a child I loved the Mother West Wind Stories by Thornton Burgess.  At the time I was not aware of the social commentary going on in the tales of these animals.  As an adult I found many references to topics like hunger.  I made this artist-book based on four of those references.

You can click on each picture to see an enlargement.

artist book, the Hunger Curios
The Hunger Curios, view 1

The book is meant to be experienced (like a cabinet of curios) as well as read.Artist Book, The Hunger Curios

Incorporated in The Hunger Curios are four smaller books of collages with quotations from Burgess’ work.

Artist book, The Hunger Curios
Getting into the book

It is important to me that my book not be an illustration of Burgess’ work.  It is more a visual rumination based on some of Burgess’ thoughts.

artist book, The Hunger Curios

As a digital artist, I find that I do not want to abandon the old ways.  Curious fact:

  • digit |ˈdijit|
    noun
    1 any of the numerals from 0 to 9, esp. when forming part of a number.
    2 a finger (including the thumb) or toe.
    • Zoology an equivalent structure at the end of the limbs of many higher vertebrates.
    ORIGIN late Middle English: from Latin digitus ‘finger, toe’; sense 1 arose from the practice of counting on the fingers.

So while digital refers to counting on the fingers and toes, it can also mean something that you make with your fingers (and – presumably – your toes).  I feel at home in either world.

artist book, The Hunger Curios

The experience of making the collages was liberating.  I had a bunch of old prints which I tore up and put back together heedless of the thought process.  Fast and dirty.  But since the old prints were printed on heavy watercolor paper, the ink cracked and seams broke open when I tried to make the accordion folds.  So I then scanned the collages and printed them on long-fiber Japanese paper, and lo….they were manageable.

Just as in childhood, I had to put the books away when Mother called.  So here is The Hunger Curios back in its cabinet.

Artist book, the hunger curios

If you wish to read through the small books, go to www.jandove.com/index.php/artist-made-books/the-hunger-curios

Oola and I will be taking off in Mom’s Memorial Prius to attend a wedding in Texas.  I am planning on sending you a drawing or photograph a day.

One thought on “The Hunger Curios

  1. Oh, Goody…a drawing or photograph to look forward to each day. A good reason to get up:) Really like the book, and realize how much work went into it. Don’t know if I have the patience anymore to do all that was necessary to just built the complicated case and cover it. How large is the edition? 50? Hope to see you in about a month.

    Bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

