No new journeys yet, but Oola and I are planning to brave the traffic in THE BIG CITY in two weeks to visit and/or volunteer in the Seattle Antiquarian Book Fair, then on to the Sammamish Library in Sammamish WA for an artist book show-and-tell.  Both adventures will be as a member of the Book Arts Guild in Seattle.

In the meantime, I have not been twiddling my thumbs.  Having become intimidated by a large project which I embarked on early last year, I have been trying out stuff on a smaller scale and thinking of the work as “studies”. Here are three:

You can enlarge any image by clicking on it.

Study 1
Study 1
test1-detail-800
Study 1, detail
test2-800
Study 2
test2detail-800
Study 2, detail
test3-800
Study 3
test3-detail-800
Study 3, detail

 

The finished sizes of these studies are about 18″ x 26″ x 4″.  They are developed from my electronically drawn figures, digital photos, and rubbings of street features, all in Photoshop.  They are then pigment printed on Habotai silk on an Epson 9900.  I sew the borders on to the central image, then attach the small stones using iridescent fly fishing thread.  I embroider slashes in the silk with cotton thread and “suture” them with binder’s waxed black linen thread.  Other materials include transparent film, silk-wrapped branches, silk-wrapped coil, copper wire, telephone wire, lead fishing weights wrapped in waxed cotton thread.

3 thoughts on “Studies

  1. I think study #2 works the best. The additions rather than being a 3D extension of a body part, seem to me to be mental, as in thinking/brain waves. Moves me from a beautiful image to the world beyond it.

    Hope all is well. Terrible to hear about another mall killing, this one seeming to be about 50 miles from the two of you. We just a had a lawyer, in military dress and Nazi symbols, stand in the street in the predawn hours and randomly shoot at cars, No one killed, but him. Makes me want to vomit every time I hear, “Guns don’t kill, people do.”

    Keep up the art making. Doing what we love to do is what we need to do. Sends ’em good vibes out into the winds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

